ॐ Hindu Of Universe ॐ

“God’s light is within you, It never leaves you.”

Lord Shiva Avatars

Lord Shiva is considered as the supreme God in the Hinduism. For setting up an ideal work on the earth in front of his creatures, he had taken variety of the avatars and incarnations. Some of his avatars are related to protecting his devotees from the devils and proud Gods as well. However, five avatars of all his incarnations are hideously important as well as assumed to be the most valuable and effective for his devotees. The most important five incarnations are: Tatpurush, Namadeva, Aghoresh, Sadhojat and Ishan.

5 important Avatars of Shiva

However, five avatars of all his incarnations are hideously important as well as assumed to be the most valuable and effective for his devotees. The most important five incarnations are

  • Tatpurusha
  •  Namadeva
  • Aghoresh
  • Sadhojat
  • Ishan


Tatpurusha is the most popular third incarnation of Lord Shiva which was manifested in the 21st Kalpa of the planet known as Peetavasa. It was appeared by the prayer of the Lord Brahma.


During the 20th Kalpa known as the Rakta, Lord Brahma got his complexion changed to a red. Another entity appeared from him of the red complexion, which was the name by him as a Namadeva. It is considered as the Naamdeva was also the incarnation of Lord Shiva.


In the Shiva Kalpa (after the Peetavasa Kalp), an entity of black color complexion was appeared by the Lord Brahma when he was in a deep meditation state. Lord Brahma named that entity as Aghor Shiva and considered as another form of Lord Shiva.


During the 19th Kalpa known as Shweta Lohit, there appeared an entity by the Lord Brahma while he was meditating, which was named by him as Sadhojat. It is considered that this form of Lord Shiva was the first incarnation. Four disciples of the Sadhojat were appeared by his own body named Nandan, Vishwanandan, Sunand, and Upanandan.


In the Vishwaroop Kalpa, Ishan form of Lord Shiva and Saraswati were manifested. Four divine entities like Mundi, Shikhandi, Caste, and Ardhamundi were manifested from the Ishan Shiva. Lord Brahma was blessed by all of them for the creation facility.

Lord Shiva’s 5 Incarnations

The sages requested Suta to describe about the different incarnations of Lord Shiva. Suta told them that, although Lord Shiva took many incarnations but five of his incarnations were very important- Sadhojat Namadeva, Tat Purusha, Aghoresh and Ishan

1) SADHOJAT:-Lord Shiva took his first incarnation from the physique incarnation from the physique of Lord Brahma, who was engrossed in his deep state of meditation, during the nineteenth Kalpa named Shweta Lohit. Lord Brahma gave him the name Sadhojat and eulogized him. Later on, from the physique of Sadhojat four of his disciple manifested, whose names were Sunand, Nandan, Vishwanandan and Upanandan. All the four disciples were of fair complexion. Lord Shiva blessed Brahma and empowered him to do creation. 

2) NAMDEVA:- During the twentieth Kalpa named ‘Rakta’ the complexion of lord Brahma turned red, while he was engrossed in his meditative state. From his body manifested an entity who also was of red complexion. Lord Brahma named him Namadeva considering him to be the incarnation of lord Shiva and eulogized him. Later on four sons were born to Namadeva, whose names were Viraj, Viwah, Vishok and Vishwabhawan. All of them were of red complexion just like their father Namadeva. 
Namdeva Shiva along with his virtuous progenies blessed lord Brahma with the power of creation. 

3) TAT PURUSHA:- The twenty-first Kalpa on the earth was known as ‘Peetavasa’. It was named so because of the apparel of lord Brahma which were of yellow colours. Lord Brahma’s prayer resulted into the manifestation of an effulgent entity. Considering this entity as Lord Shiva, Lord Brahma started chanting the mantras of Shiva Gayatri. After the chantings of the mantras, numerous entities manifested who had put on apparels of yellow colour on their body. This way the third incarnation of Shiva popularly known as Tat Purusha manifested. 

4) GHORESH:- After the Peetavasa Kalpa came the Shiva Kalpa. A black complexioned manifested while Lord Brahma was engrossed in his deep meditative state. Lord Brahma considering this entity as Aghor Shiva started eulogizing him. Lord Brahma’s eulogization resulted into the manifestation of four more entities who had the same black complexion as that of ‘Aghor Shiva’. Their names were Krishna, Krishnashikha, Krishnamukha and Krishnakanthdhari. Ghor Shiva along with those four entities blessed lord Brahma with the power of creation. 

5) ISHAN- During the Kalpa named Vishwaroop, manifestations of Saraswati and Ishan Shiva took place. Lord Brahma eulogized Ishan Shiva after which four divine entities named Jati, Mundi, Shikhandi and Ardhamundi manifested from Ishan Shiva. All of them blessed lord Brahma with the power of creation. 

5 Unknown Incarnations Of God Shiva

God Shiva is considered to be highly powerful and omnipresent. In order to maintain balance and law of nature, he manifested himself into several avatars and incarnations. Through various mythological stories, we are aware of several famous avatars like Nandi, Bhairav, Veerabhadra, Sharabha, Durvasa etc. In this post, we delve into 5 unheard yet powerful incarnations of God Shiva.


God Shiva’s first incaranation was Sadhojat. His physique was based on God Brahma. God Shiva took this incarnation when Brahma was in deep meditation. On seeing him, God Brahma gave this incarnation the name of Sadhojat and eulogized him. As time progressed, from the body of Sadhojat, 4 of his disciples manifested. They were named Sunand, Nandan, Vishwanandan and Upanandan.


According to ancient Hindu mythology, God Brahma’s complexion turned red during the 20th Kalpa. As a result, the 20th Kalpa is called ‘Rakta’. During his meditation, an entity was whose complexion was also red. God Brahma realized, he was an incarnation of God Shiva and named him Namdeva.

In time, Namdeva has four sons – Viraj, Viwah, Vishok and Vishwabhavan. All of them had red complexion.


During the 21st Kalpa on earth, which is also known as Peetavasa, God Brahma adorned himself with only yellow apparels. God Brahma’s meditation and prayers resulted in the manifestation of a beaming entity. Realizing this was an incarnation of God Shiva, God Brahma started chanting the Shiva Gayatri mantra. By the time he finished chanting the mantras, several numerous avatars were born wearing yellow clothes.


Following the Peetavasa Kalpa, arrived the Shiva Kalpa. During this time period, a black avatar of was born when God Brahma was deeply engrossed in his meditation. He realized this was another incarnation of God Shiva and called him ‘ Aghor Shiva’ Soon there were 4 new avatars that were manifested, all in black complexion, named Krishna, Krishnashikha, Krishnamukha and Krishnakanthdhari.


During the Vishwaroop Kalpa, manifestations of Saraswati and Ishan Shiva occurred. From Ishan Shiva four divine entities were born, named, Jati, Mundi, Shikhandi and Ardhamundi.